Maggots in my manna

IMG_3563I went to bed later than I planned because my day was so full that I ended up playing catch-up all evening. Then at bed time, instead of spending a sweet time in prayer (and generally getting all of God’s delicious nougat-y goodness that comes from sitting at His feet at the end of my day), I spent 2-3 minutes chatting with Him (aka crying on His shoulder) before I drifted off to sleep. Then, I woke up more tired than usual…less alert than usual…and later than usual. Kids got up, breakfast needed to be cooked, and folks needed help getting ready for their day. My morning time with the Lord was cut short as a result and I launched into the day, with only a few stolen moments with the Lord, feeling rushed, pressed, and empty.

I didn’t get a fresh batch of manna.

When the Israelites were in the wilderness for 40 years, God gave them manna to eat every morning. It was their main source of nourishment. They were instructed to go out each morning and gather it. Here’s the cool part, the KEY: The Israelites were told to get as much as they needed. “The Israelites did as they were told; some gathered much, some little. And when they measured it by the omer, the one who gathered much did not have too much, and the one who gathered little did not have too little. Everyone had gathered just as much as they needed.” Exodus 16: 17-18

God didn’t tell them to get a little bit and try to live on it as best they could. No, he told them to get a full measure of it! God wants us to be FULLY satisfied. Not living on drips and drops.

We can’t live on yesterday’s manna either. We need FRESH manna each day. We need a fresh, timely Word from God each day. If not…maggots.

The Israelites were told to go out and gather fresh manna each day, eat it, and not save it over night. Some of them disobeyed and kept their manna for the next day. When they got up the next day and opened their jars, guess what they found: Maggots!!! Blech. (Ever seen a maggot? If not, you’re lucky. If you have, a shiver just went up your spine.)

I’ve had plenty of days when I’ve tried to munch on day-old (or month-old) manna. It just doesn’t work. Yesterday’s manna from the Lord — even if it was mind-blowing and life-changing (huzzah!!) — just isn’t going to be everything I need for TODAY.

I have to get my Bible out, sit down with it in a quiet place, and stop everything else. I have to focus my mind and heart and pray that the Holy Spirit would please come and speak to me and fill me. I need wisdom for everything going on in my family today. I need fresh wisdom that is applicable to today’s problems and questions. I need a word from the Lord about the struggles I am currently having.

I need today’s manna…and I need to gather as much as I need. I won’t survive without it.

“I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being.” Ephesians 3:16

Leave a Reply

