Second Chances

YSWC-websidebar-272x220Have you ever wished you could go back and have a do-over? You know, when put your foot in your mouth or lose your temper or criticize someone…and you just wish you could hit the back button and start all over again?

I know I have. So many times. I say something I shouldn’t or say things are the completely wrong time. I’m unkind to my children or husband, I get frustrated, things come out of my mouth that I can’t shove back in. It’s the worst feeling when you just can’t take it back!

I love that God is a God of second chances. He never gives up on us and is always ready to wipe the slate clean.

When Moses went up to get the Ten Commandments from God, it was a great beginning. He went up the mountain, the people were waiting, God met Moses face to face, all was good. But boy did they mess it up. They had a big party while Moses was up on the mountain and end up making a golden calf to worship. God said enough is enough, and Moses pleaded on behalf of the people.

But God relented and gave them a HUGE second chance. And something remarkable happens.

“Then the Lord told Moses, ‘Chisel out two stone tablets like the first ones. I will write on them the same words that were on the tablets you smashed. Be ready in the morning to climb up Mount Sinai and present yourself to me on the top of the mountain.'” (Exodus 34: 1-2 NLT)

What?! He actually said let’s boost back and have a do-over?! I love it. I want it. I need it.

But that’s what God is all about. Over and over and over again, the Bible tells a story of second chances. And He gives us our do-overs all the time. Yes, there are consequences. Yes, things get hairy. But God extends grace every time. There are no utter failures to God, except the heart that just refuses and refuses to ever turn to Him and say, “Hey, please come in and fix this mess.”

When we screw up, whether it is big or little, God says to us what He said to Moses: “Get up in the morning, be ready, and come meet me.” And when we do, He hands us a clean slate and begins again to write His story and His plans on the tablets of our hearts.

Leave a Reply

